Skip to content


2023 Awards

Lilo Pozzo, Kevin Jamieson, Ting Cao – “Launching a MEM-C Artificial Intelligence Core to Accelerate Materials Discovery and Development.“- unfunded collaborators: Xiaosong Li

2022 Awards

Arthur Barnard – “Sensitive measurement of magnetization and susceptibility in 2D membrane resonators” – unfunded collaborators: David Cobden, Arka Majumdar, Jiun-Haw Chu

David Bergsman – “Controlling Charge State in Diamond Qubits through the Atomic Layer Deposition of Metal Oxides” – unfunded collaborator: Kai-Mei Fu

Matthew Golder and Alshakim Nelson – “Mechanoredox Curing (Mechanocure) of Photochemically Patterned 3D Printed Materials”

Juan-Carlos Idrobo – “Single atom spectroscopy of Yb3+ doped CrI3 2D van der Waals layer material” – unfunded collaborator: Daniel Gamelin

Dianne Xiao and Stefan Stoll – “Embedding rare-earth ions in porous scaffolds for quantum sensing and imprinting applications“- unfunded collaborator: Daniel Gamelin

2021 Awards

Lilo Pozzo and Xiaosong Li – “Accelerated Development of Clean Energy Materials via Physics-Aware Artificial Intelligence” Team Investigators: Jim Pfaendtner, Kevin Jamieson, Ting Cao, Dianne Xiao, Matthew Golder, Jihui Yang, Nadya Peek, Juan Carlos Idrobo

Cole DeForest, Alshakim Nelson and Ashleigh Theberge – “4D Multi-materials for Advanced Chemical Transformation” Team Investigators: Brandi Cossairt, Dan Fu, Matthew Golder, Stéphanie Valleau

Jiun-Haw Chu and Alexandra Velian – “Elastic Quantum Materials” Team Investigators: Arthur Barnard, Ting Cao, David Cobden, Juan Carlos Idrobo, Mo LI, Dianne Xiao, Xiaodong Xu, Jihui Yang, Matthew Yankowitz

Daniel Gamelin and Kai-Mei Fu – “Designer Defects in Low-Dimensional (0D, 1D, 2D) Photonic Materials” Team Investigators: Brandi Cossairt, Scott Dunham, Juan Carlos Idrobo, Mo Li, Xiaosong li, Peter Pauzauskie, Stephan Stoll, Dianne Xiao

2020 Awards

Matthew Golder – “Catalytic Piezoelectric Nanomaterials for Force-Induced Free-Radical Polymerizations” Unfunded collaborator: Daniel Gamelin
Dianne Xiao – “Supramolecular Self-Assembly of Semiconducting π–d Conjugated Materials” Unfunded collaborator: Christine Luscombe

Multidisciplinary Team
Jessica Ray and Lucas Meza – “Robust and Regenerable Molecularly Imprinted Polymer (MIP)/Carbon Nanotube (CNT) Filters for Selective Removal of Perfluoroalkyl Acids (PFAAs)
Alexandra Velian and Mo Li – “Bottom-Up Synthetic 2D Magnetic Crystals for Non-Reciprocal Photonics” Unfunded collaborators: Xiaodong Xu, Jiun-Haw Chu, Matthew Yankowitz
Arthur Barnard and Ting Cao – “In Situ Mechanical Shear for Tuning Phase Transitions in a 2-Dimensional Magnet” Unfunded collaborator: David Cobden

2019 Awards

Munira Khalil – “Tracking Local Electron Density on the Surface of InP Nanoclusters Using Transient Infrared Spectroscopy” Unfunded collaborator: Brandi Cossairt
Alexandra Velian – “Long-Range Magnetic and Electronic Coupling in Nanosheets Assembled from Chiral Nano-Propellers” Unfunded collaborator: Jiun-Haw Chu

Multidisciplinary Team
Ting Cao and Matthew Yankowitz – “Interfacial engineering with two-dimensional Janus van der Waals materials
Ashleigh Theberge and Cole DeForest – “Spatial Control over Logically Responsive Multi-Material Structures
Lilo Pozzo, Nadya Peek, Matt O’Donnell – “Spatio-Temporally Controlled Sonochemical Synthesis of Semiconductor Nanomaterials

2018 Awards:

Multidisciplinary Team
Albert Folch, Alshakim Nelson, Cole DeForest – “Digitally-Programmed 3D Printing of Functional Multi-Materials
Lilo Pozzo, Matt O’Donnell – “Growth Mechanisms for Ultrasound and Laser-Induced Synthesis of Nanomaterials
Gerald Seidler, Alexandra Velian – “New Capabilities for Advanced X-ray Spectroscopy of Novel Phosphorous-Rich Materials to Accelerate Materials Discovery
Alexandra Velian, Mo Li – “Synthetic Approaches to Stabilize and Tune the Bandgap of Black Phosphorus for Infrared Applications

2018-2020 iSuperSEED2 team (funded by a supplement award)
David Ginger, Jiangyu Li, Nathan Kutz – “Accelerating Materials Discoveries by Data-Enabled Microscopies and Spectroscopies